nextcloud / nextcloud/spreed

Archive Conversation - add documentation

Open
#14,558 1 comment 0 reactions 1 assignee View on GitHub

@Antreesy is already working on this.

Since Mar 5, 2025.

enhancement Needs triage
Dominant language
PHP
Stars
2.2k
Forks
587
Avg merge
18h 27m
Merged PRs (30d)
333

Description

How to use GitHub
  • Please use the 👍 reaction to show that you are interested into the same feature.
  • Please don't comment if you have no relevant information to add. It's just extra noise for everyone subscribed to this issue.
  • Subscribe to receive notifications on status change and new comments.

Feature request

I have been getting confused when presented with the "Archive Conversation instead?" message when leaving a conversation.

I went looking for documentation about this feature to answer the following questions:

  • What does archiving do?
  • If I archive a conversation, what does that imply or change about how I can interact with the archived conversation?
  • If I am the moderator for a conversation, does this remove access to the conversation for other participants?
  • Does "Archiving" a conversation simply hide it in my conversation list, but changes nothing more about my membership or settings associated with the conversation?
  • What's the difference between "leaving" and "archiving" a conversation?
  • The dialogue's message Do you really want to leave? You can archive this conversation instead. is suggesting archiving is the preferred action I want. Is it? Why?

I went searching for answers to these questions, however could not find them in the documentation.

The best answers I could find are here in a PR comment.

There is also a description deep in the conversation settings under "Danger Zone" header:

Image

The questions as a user continue based on this description:

  • Archiving setting is under "Danger Zone" so is dangerous! Ok, but... as a user, how is it dangerous?

  • Archived conversation are hidden from the conversation list by default. - Is an archived conversation hidden only from me, the user, or from anyone on the server? The Lock option above this setting affects everyone, so I assume it affects everyone?

  • But.. perhaps it only affects me? As described here it sounds like personal conversation management more than a dangerous actions that affect other participants?

Describe the solution you'd like
Would be great to describe this feature and it's implications in the Talk User Manual, especially the user-hidden secondary effects described here in a PR comment:

When archiving, change 'notifications level' -> direct only (if was wider)
When archiving, change 'should notify about call' -> false

Describe alternatives you've considered
A clear and concise description of any alternative solutions or features you've considered.

Additional context
Add any other context or screenshots about the feature request here.

Contributor guide

Open the contributing guide

First steps

  1. Read the whole issue, then the project's contributing guide.
  2. Comment on the issue to say you are picking it up — it saves two people doing the same work.
  3. Fork the repository and make your change on a branch.
  4. Open a pull request that references the issue number.

Assessment

This issue has not been assessed yet.

Get new issues in your inbox

A short digest of beginner-friendly GitHub issues.