nextcloud / nextcloud/notes-android
Prevent editing of unsynchronized notes
@korelstar is already working on this.
Since Feb 13, 2017.
- Dominant language
- Java
- Stars
- 1.1k
- Forks
- 168
- Avg merge
- 1d 17h
- Merged PRs (30d)
- 31
Description
I like the app, but I recently found a problem that can cause loss of content (0.9.0 on Galaxy S5, Android 6.0.1). How to reproduce:
- Modify an existing note using the web interface (e.g. add or remove a line)
- Start the app and immediately start to edit the same note (before synchronization has been finished)
- Close the note on the app (using the "back" button)
Result: the changes made to the note using the web interface are lost and overwritten with the local changes (or the old version, if no local changes have been made).
I propose the following solution: the app should deny editing a note before synchronization has been finished! I. e. if I tap the "edit" button and the note has not yet been synchronized, instead of opening the editor with the outdated content, synchronization should be started and the editor should only be opened after the note has been synchronized. In order to indicate activity to the user, the same animation can be shown that is already used when triggering a manual synchronization (by swiping down). In case synchronization is not possible (e. g. no connection), a warning should be shown that makes it clear that all unsynchronized changes made through the web interface will be lost when the note is edited locally. What do you think?
Contributor guide
First steps
- Read the whole issue, then the project's contributing guide.
- Comment on the issue to say you are picking it up — it saves two people doing the same work.
- Fork the repository and make your change on a branch.
- Open a pull request that references the issue number.
Assessment
This issue has not been assessed yet.