[Bug]: "Sync hidden files" option cannot be deactivated before sync folders have been selected
- Dominant language
- C++
- Stars
- 3.9k
- Forks
- 1k
- Avg merge
- 1d 17h
- Merged PRs (30d)
- 123
Description
### ⚠️ Before submitting, please verify the following: ⚠️
- [x] This is a **bug**, not a question or a configuration issue.
- [x] This issue is **not** already reported on Github (I've searched it).
- [x] Nextcloud Server and Desktop Client are **up to date**. See [Server Maintenance and Release Schedule](https://github.com/nextcloud/server/wiki/Maintenance-and-Release-Schedule) and [Desktop Releases](https://nextcloud.com/install/#install-clients) for supported versions.
- [x] I agree to follow Nextcloud's [Code of Conduct](https://nextcloud.com/contribute/code-of-conduct/)
### Bug description
In the client's "Nextcloud Settings -> General -> Advanced -> Edit Ignored Files -> Global Ignore Settings" menu, the option "Sync hidden files" will not stay unchecked before folders to sync have been selected.
### Steps to reproduce
1. Set up an account in the client and skip folder configuration in the first time use wizard.
2. Navigate to the setting and uncheck it.
3. Close the window, navigate back to the setting and observe that it has been reset to checked state.
### Expected behavior
The setting stays unchecked and the relevant line is written to the configuration file. Hidden files will not be synced right from the very start.
I believe this is the line in `/home/user/.config/Nextcloud/nextcloud.cfg`:
```
[Accounts]
0\Folders\1\ignoreHiddenFiles=true
```
### Which files are affected by this bug
/home/user/.config/Nextcloud/nextcloud.cfg
### Operating system
Linux
### Which version of the operating system you are running.
Fedora 43
### Package
Distro package manager
### Nextcloud Server version
31.0.6
### Nextcloud Desktop Client version
3.16.3daily (Fedora)
### Is this bug present after an update or on a fresh install?
Fresh desktop client install
### Are you using the Nextcloud Server Encryption module?
Encryption is Disabled
### Are you using an external user-backend?
- [ ] Default internal user-backend
- [ ] LDAP/ Active Directory
- [ ] SSO - SAML
- [ ] Other
### Nextcloud Server logs
```shell
```
### Additional info
This is a critical setting that simply must work when it is unchecked or it to be clearly stated that it is not possible to disable it before sync folders have been setup. Ideal would be to have the checkbox in the account setup wizard, but i guess that would be a new feature request not really in the scope of this bug report.
Due to this issue i ended up accidentally syncing the entirety of my user's home directory instead of only visible files and i suspect that syncing a bazillion of files and following symlink loops from the dot folders (Steam?) in my user's home directory may have caused the memory leak bugs described in #4646 and/or #6711 to manifest and for the client to immediately start hogging up RAM, locking up the client and preventing me from entering the setup menu or pausing sync, eventually leading to almost total OS lockup until the OOM kills the process.
Regrettably, thinking i fudged something up myself, i decided to already reinstall the OS after reinstalling the client and cleaning the .cache/Nextcloud and .config/Nextcloud directories didn't stop the RAM hogging loop, so the only logs i can provide are the ones after the reinstall. I'd rather not risk my systems again by enabling the dot folders sync.
I was able to prevent the hidden files from being synced despite the global setting by adding the below patterns to the "Files Ignored by Patterns" list. After setting up the sync, then the global setting seems to save without issue.
```
.*
.*/
./*
```
[nc_client_logs_2025-11-1.zip](https://github.com/user-attachments/files/23286534/nc_client_logs_2025-11-1.zip)
Contributor guide
Assessment
This issue has not been assessed yet.