nextcloud / nextcloud/desktop

Preview effect of configuration changes (delete/add)

Open
#6,761 0 comments 3 reactions 0 assignees View on GitHub
Dominant language
C++
Stars
3.9k
Forks
1k
Avg merge
1d 21h
Merged PRs (30d)
127

Description

### How to use GitHub

* Please use the 👍 [reaction](https://blog.github.com/2016-03-10-add-reactions-to-pull-requests-issues-and-comments/) to show that you want to have the same feature implemented.
* Please don't comment if you have no relevant information to add. It's just extra noise for everyone subscribed to this issue.
* Subscribe to receive notifications on status change and new comments.

### Feature description
During the setup process of the desktop app, and when changing the configured sync folders, users should per default be shown a preview of the effect of their changes (a dry run) in a visual, easy to grasp overview (file tree, red for deleted folders, green for keep with +/- for clarity, unfolded along the path until first affected level).

Background: Preventing to accidentally delete many files for new users I have personally and my non-tech friends been severely burnt by setting up the desktop app, only to find it either deleted all files in my local or my remote folder. This is absolutely terrible UX and can lead to significant data loss... this is supposed to be a synchronization and backup solution, the worst it can do is to nuke the folder it is supposed to duplicate! Please reconsider this design :)

This goes along with
https://github.com/nextcloud/desktop/issues/6625
https://github.com/nextcloud/desktop/issues/6162
https://github.com/nextcloud/desktop/issues/5402
https://github.com/nextcloud/desktop/issues/5034
https://github.com/nextcloud/desktop/issues/4231

Contributor guide

Open the contributing guide

Assessment

This issue has not been assessed yet.

Get new issues in your inbox

A short digest of beginner-friendly GitHub issues.