Change flow when viewing .code-workspace file contents
- Dominant language
- TypeScript
- Stars
- 193k
- Forks
- 42.4k
- PR merge metrics
- PR metrics pending
Description
Hi, I would like to suggest a flow improvement to a situation I just encountered which cost me a valuable unsaved file.
I am using a VSCode window to write notes during new PC setup and to open various instruction files that don't lie within the main project repository.
There was a *.code-workspace file within a directory, I opened it inside the editor as a text file, then there was a button [Open Workspace], which I wanted to do.
I was then prompted:
> Do you want to save the changes you made to onboarding.md?
> Your changes will be lost if you don't save them.
> [Save] [Don't save] [Cancel]
Now the issue is twofold.
1) I expected that the button will open said workspace in a new window and that it will keep my current adhoc "notes" window intact
2) I accidentally hit [Don't save] instead of [Cancel] as I rashly interpreted the action as "don't close my current window"
This instantly resulted in a horror situation.
I tried consulting internet to see if there is a viable recovery path, I tried vscode local history, I tried logs, I tried temp folder and .vscode storage. I was not able to recover my recent changes, only the latest saved changes from yesterday.
## The suggestion
When there are other editors open other than just the .code-workspace, pressing [Open Workspace] should result in a NEW window opened, so that the existing editors are not affected.
Thank you.
Contributor guide
Assessment
This issue has not been assessed yet.