decentraland / decentraland/godot-explorer
[Bug] Collider and Tri Count in Blender not Matching Scene Limits
- Dominant language
- Rust
- Stars
- 18
- Forks
- 19
- Avg merge
- 4d 2h
- Merged PRs (30d)
- 43
Description
### Platform
Not specified
### App Version
Not specified
### Device Information
Not specified
### Issue description
A creator reports that the collider count shown by the mobile Scene Limits tooling doesn't match what's authored in Blender, and also differs from the desktop count for the same scene.
- Scene built from 192 individual box collider objects in Blender.
- Mobile scene-limits panel reports **2,820 colliders** (188% of the 1,500 budget, flagged red).
- Desktop reports a different collider count for the same scene (see attached screenshots — geometries 1,095 / colliders 783 on one client vs. the mobile panel numbers above).
- Requester wants to understand where the discrepancy comes from (e.g. is each box collider being split into multiple primitives/sub-shapes on mobile? Is desktop counting geometries differently than colliders?).
### Expected behavior
Collider counts reported by the mobile Scene Limits tooling should be explainable/consistent with what's authored in the source content (Blender) and should not wildly diverge from the desktop-reported count for the same scene, so creators can trust the budget UI when optimizing.
### Screenshots / Media
4 images attached in Slack thread (not re-uploaded here — needs manual upload to this issue):
1. Blender viewport showing 192 collider objects (orange wireframe highlighted).
2. Mobile scene-limits panel: Colliders 2,820 / 1,500 (188%, red).
3. A geometries/tris counter overlay (desktop?) showing Tris: 97,667.
4. Another counter showing Geometries: 1,095 / Colliders: 783.
### Steps to reproduce
1. Author a scene with multiple simple box colliders (not a single merged mesh collider) in Blender.
2. Export/deploy the scene and open the mobile client's Scene Limits panel.
3. Compare the reported collider count against the actual number of collider objects in Blender, and against the desktop client's reported count for the same scene.
### Occurrence
Always (as reported)
### Related Issues
- #2368 — Mobile Scene Limits - Definition and Tooling + Plaza Audit (closed) — likely defines how the collider counter is computed; worth checking against this report.
---
Requested by Rodri via Slack
Contributor guide
Assessment
This issue has not been assessed yet.